Club Annual Running Championships

The Club Senior Running Championship was introduced in 2008 and Junior in 2014, with the aim of:

  • Encouraging members’ participation in a more varied mix of race events and distances.
  • Encouraging “friendly competition” between members, despite differences in age and gender, and in turn increasing an individual’s motivation and performances.
  • Increasing the visibility of the Club at events and the potential for members to achieve individual and team awards.


The list of previous Senior Running Champions can be found at the bottom of this page.


  • The Running Championship will be run over a 12 month period commencing on the 1st January.
  • The Championship is open to all first claim members.
  • Individuals must complete four events from a list of “nominated” events.
  • An individual’s final score is calculated using the total of their best three age and gender graded scores.
  • The race finish times are taken from the official published race results. Chip timing will be used, where available.
  • Only results that record the individual competing as a BRJ member will be scored. If a BRJ member completes a race under the name of another person, the result will be disallowed.
  • Finish times will be converted into an age and gender percentage score using the Howard Grubb WMA (October 2016 edition).
  • Self-timed races will not be eligible.
  • The age category is determined by the member’s age on the 1st January.
  • Clothing shall be worn that identifies you as a member of BRJ.

Dispute Resolution

In the event of a tie, when calculating the final scores, the following criteria will be used to determine the final positions.

   i). Compare the average points for all events completed across an equal number of races. The individual with the highest average percentage will win.
  ii). If the position is still tied after applying the test at (i) above, the individual with the highest total number of completed eligible events will take precedence.
 iii). In the event that there is any dispute, the arbiter shall be the senior club captain, whose decision shall be final.


Senior Age Category Awards

Male/ Female;  U20, 20-34, 35-39, 40-44, 45-49, 50-54,55-59,60-64, 65+

 Nominated Events for 2022 

Date  Event
16th January Frostbite 5M March
27th February Tarpley 20 or Tarpley 10 (Bury St Edmunds)
19th March Huntingdon 5K Parkrun
 6th March Cambridge Half Marathon
3rd April Thorney Keith Hall Memorial 10K
8th May Eye 10k
12th June Sublime Peterborough Midsummer 10K
20th July Peterborough Grand Prix Series 5k (Ferry Meadows)
13th August Huntingdon 5K parkrun
September Track 3K BRJ event TBC
30th October Fen 10M
November St Neots Half Marathon TBC
31st December Sublime Peterborough New Years Eve 10k or Ely New Years Eve 10K
1st January to 31st December 2022 Any full marathon UK or overseas.
Note Only 1 (one) marathon will count towards the final score


Running Performance Awards

In conjunction with the Annual Running Championship there is a Performance Awards Scheme.

If an individual achieves a finish position in the Running Championship their level of achievement will be measured against the pre-determined set of criteria detailed below:-

Award Level Award Criteria
Club Standard The average of the total score for their best 3 events fall below 50%
Bronze The average of the total score for their best 3 events fall between 50% to 59.99%
Silver The average of the total score for their best 3 events fall between 60% to 69.99%
Gold The average of the total score for their best 3 events fall between 70% to 74.99%
Platinum The average of the total score for their best 3 events fall between 75% to 79.99%
Diamond The average of the total score for their best 3 events fall at 80%, or more


Senior Running Champions


Year Men – Tony Cotton Shield Women – Esther Cotton Shield
2008/9 Tony Cotton Esther Cotton
2009/10 Darren Preston Lucy Moore
2010/11 Darren Preston Sue Yendley
2012 Roger Holliday Annette Newton
2013 Roger Holliday Annette Newton
2014 David Newton Annette Newton
2015 David Newton Annette Newton
2016 David Newton Annette Newton
2017 David Hudson Annette Newton
2018 David Hudson Annette Newton
2019 David Hudson Annette Newton
2020 Not awarded Covid pandemic Not awarded Covid pandemic
2021 Not awarded Covid pandemic Not awarded Covid pandemic